I went to go see Kick-Ass yesterday afternoon, on a whim.

Turns out that the good word-of-mouth I’d heard must… must be from people who don’t know from movies. And to be honest, I don’t really know from movies (heck, I just now added the ‘movies’ category to my blog) either, but I do know about fiction and looking at things. A little, at least.

But this is not for me to rant about why and how much I didn’t like the movie. That may be the next post.

A an art-project-thought occurred to me while I was watching the movie, which was repeatedly and obviously shot in Toronto, my hometown, including one hilarious shot where the characters were walking into the theatre I was currently watching the movie in.

All these cities become one city in movies. Usually New York, sometimes London or Paris, or Gotham or Metropolis. Movies from around the world are chopped up, their buildings removed from their neighbourhoods and repurposed as a backdrop for the bank heist, the the rags-to-riches tale, or the execrable superhero parody. (seriously, who wrote that garbage?) These movie makers are doing what I’m trying to do in my current, still-nascent project, but their fictional aims are to make something believeable, immersive, and secondary to whatever the actors are doing.

