The other day I was spending quality time in the upstairs washroom of my house. Worry not, the details of my primary activity there won’t enter into this post. I was looking at the strange, regular gridded tiling pattern on the floor and halfway up the walls and remarking at the barely perceiveable patterns my brain etched in them. Symmetrical growing shapes, abstract, twisting, snakely lines, of course these patterns were not there, but the brain is hard-wired to recognize patterns and impose them on things which lack them.

I could go off on some sort of ill-informed rant (those are the best kind!) about pattern recognition/imposition as resulting of other sorts of fallacious reasoning in life, but I’m short on time right now, so instead I’ll just leave you with a wikipedia link! (those are the best kind!)

Pareidolia!

