I did not pay very good attention in class yesterday afternoon, as I was busy playing Tetoris. I played for about 25 minutes, scored zero points, and eventually just did my best to end my game.

Now this, this fits under the rubric of ‘games as art’. Of course, the art is about Tetris. It is taking Tetris’ trappings and changing the setting, causing the player/viewer to reconsider their willingness to participate in such a thing. It encourages different modes of play, or even just leaving it on in the background and seeing what happens. It raises questions about the ridiculous things that video games have us do, what makes some enjoyable while others are unbearable.

Or maybe I’m just reading too much into it, the result of playing a bizarre version of Tetris while in an art history & theory class.

