This is a slightly secret and fantastic place.

In the Don, north of Pottery Road, there is a series of really exciting mountain bike trails. There are grueling climbs and terrifying downhills. There is lots of North Shore and a nice dirt park with jumps n’ stuff. There are rivers and fast sections, tearing ass between trees and over small hills. It is one of the most exciting places in the city, as far as I’m concerned, and I haven’t been in years.

I first headed out with my friend Patrick, back in the day. There was at least one moment where I biked so hard that I was very sure I was going to puke.

As I slowly became less and less of an aspiring cyclist, or maybe just older and more cautious, I tended to hit the lower trail, the one that runs along the Don River, more often than the one that exists up on the ravine slopes. It was less terrifyingly exciting, but was still fun, small hills, occasional bridges over washed out trail sections, etc etc.

It’s all maintained by avid cyclists, so, much respect to them for putting that much time and effort into something so thoroughly badass.

I think I’m going to go back there asap, even if it’s just on foot.

