I discovered this while praying (for enlightenment concerning the semicolon) at the altar of my god, Wikipedia.

I had a whole long list of things planned out to write about, but then I am unexpectedly bombarded with strange and wonderful things.

I have little to say about this subject that the wikipedia article does not cover. The idea of specific punctuation that further informs the reader of the writer’s intention is… exciting? preposterous?

I wonder why it never caught on? Deemed redundant, perhaps? Context and careful word choice can convey a lot of these meanings without a didactic piece of punctuation belabouring the point. That said, for internet communication, I think the irony mark would be very useful for me, as I tend to overuse (to the point of abuse) the “:P” smiley to denote irony. (haha, colon pee)

