In case you can’t already tell, this is the extremely nerdy post I warned of a few days back. My ramblings about these three words will be, suitably, threefold.

1. I have always enjoyed any fictional setting (or, I suppose, real and unfamiliar to me) that is full of rich, well-implemented slang. It adds a great deal of depth to the language, and makes me feel smart when I finally figure out what the hell it is they’re talking about. Plus, much in the way that I enjoyed finding secret paths in the woods in a brand new neighbourhood, it makes me feel initiated into the culture in question.

2. Yes, I am about to seriously discuss Orks. Space Orks, even. Much like traditional fantasy orcs, but, y’know, in space, specifically in the Warhammer 40k setting. I used to play the tabletop game in Grade 10, and it was generally a lot of fun to play (if also extremely nerdy, time-consuming, and expensive). I more or less forgot about it after that grade was over, as all my friends turned out to be douchebags. At least until recently enrolling in the public beta of Dawn of War II. It’s a small-scale real-time strategy game set in this universe, and as a one-time fan of the setting, I believe that Relic has done a bang-up job of representing its feel. This has been done with lots of flavour voice acting, with different squads and characters having all sorts of amusing, fitting, often badass things to say, based on context. Better still, the game plays brilliantly. It’s a departure from the standards of base-building and unit production, and focuses more on map control, and a rock-paper-scissors style of combat. The 1v1 matches tend to be short and very intense.

But, I digress. This is not a post about Dawn of War II.

3. The Waaagh! is many things. It’s a gestalt psychic force that Orks generate when they’re having fun (read: fighting). It’s their battlecry, and it can also be used to refer to an Ork army. Nobs (apparently from Noble, truncated, but pronounced like ‘knob’), lead the mobs of Orks, appointed to lead by merit of being bigga and stronga. Finally, Dakka translates losely to firepower, or perhaps the act of shooting. Think of it as an Orky booyaka.

Yes, this is all very silly. But it’s so much fun.  Plus, they sound like British soccer hooligans, excited for bloodshed like a child for candy.

